Hikari Miso today announced that its Halal-certified “MISO SOUP Wakame” will be available in Japan and other countries by the end of October, 2015. This is the first Halal-certified instant miso soup ever produced in the miso industry.
The newly developed “MISO SOUP Wakame” comes in miso paste packaged for individual servings. Mixed in the paste is wakame seaweed, one of the most popular toppings for miso soup in many countries. Simply by adding hot water, the “MISO SOUP Wakame” will be instantly ready in a bowl or cup. The product is made easy for Muslim consumers unfamiliar with cooking miso soup from scratch, which requires specific knowledge and skill on ingredients and preparation.
“MISO SOUP Wakame” is certified by Japan Halal Association, a nonprofit organization in Japan recognized by a Halal certification body of the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (JAKIM). The product followed a rigorous process that took Hikari Miso two years for product development including selection of ingredients, installation of a separate Halal-only production line, and comprehensive employee training on Halal food safety, hygiene, and management.
Company’s Commitment to International Dietary Needs:
MISO SOUP Wakame Hikari Miso had obtained Halal certification back in December, 2012 and has introduced the first Halal-certified miso to the industry in response to the growing Islamic population. Muslims are the fastest growing religious population in the world and are projected to reach 2.8 billion people by 2050, which will make up of 30 percent of the world population.* Therefore, demands for Halal certified products are rapidly increasing in the food industry both inside and outside of Japan.
Hikari Miso expects to increase awareness and expand sales in the Islamic world by introducing an instant miso soup that is easy to prepare. The company is aiming to expand its international business by maximizing its strength of high quality and strict safety standards that was proved by the Halal certification.
Halal foods are foods that have been prepared in accordance with Islamic dietary guidelines. Islam forbids the consumption of items such as pork and alcohol and their derivatives. Food products certified as Halal for Muslim consumers are labeled to indicate that they have been prepared, processed, transported, and stored in accordance with the rules of Islam. Certified products must not contain things such as pork or ingredients derived from pork (e.g., lard and gelatin). Nor shall they contain any form of alcohol, including mirin, cooking sake, or alcohol used as a preservative. For this reason, raw materials, production processes, and product quality are inspected, and only products that are recognized as conforming to the halal requirements can carry the certified-Halal mark.
*Data compiled by Pew Research Center “The Future of World Religions: Population Growth Projections, 2010-2050”